RSS Feed

Getting Started: Some details about your Gluten Free Gal Friday

Some people find that goodbyes are the hardest.  For me, it seems like getting rolling in the beginning of anything is the biggest challenge.  Once I get going, it’s often hard to know where to stop!  I guess sometimes the best way to start something new is to dive in head first, so I’m going to take the plunge.

18 Weeks!

Let’s start with a little bit about me; I’m 30 and I’m from a tiny town in Upstate NY of which you’ve likely never heard (and are even less likely going to be able to pronounce), so I’ll spare you the specifics.  I’m married (for almost 7 years, no less) to a man who is undeniably my best friend, who is supportive and loving to a fault.  We have an extremely opinionated cat, named Mr. Pink, who is never short on personality.  We’ve had more adventures over the last decade than I can begin to recount in an introduction, but sufficed to say we’ve been up, down and all around, and now are about to embark on the biggest little adventure to date, our first child.  That’s right, I’m expecting a little one this summer!

Hard at Work

For over 10 years, I’ve been working as a tattoo artist professionally.  It has been my passion, the fire that has literally consumed me from waking to sleep every day, my greatest challenge, and the source of my deepest frustrations.  I have plans to return (triumphantly) and will be picking up where I left off on opening my own studio once my autoimmune disorder is in remission and I’ve had this baby, since they both suddenly came up as I was about to lease some space!  But I’m a firm believer that EVERYTHING happens for a reason, whether or not we’re able to see it from where we stand at the time.

Recently, I’d been working as a dental assistant in a children’s dental program that is based in an RV that goes from school district to school district.  It didn’t stem from my love of oral hygiene or healthy smiles, plain and simple it paid the bills (and even opening a kick-ass tattoo studio takes money, kiddies!) and I have a unique skill set that allowed me to transition into it easily. Unfortunately, I’ve been out of work the last couple of months due to complications with both the pregnancy and a massive flare up of an autoimmune disorder I was recently diagnosed with, Pemphigus Vulgaris.  I probably won’t spend a whole lot of time talking about my PV (although I’m sure it will come up from time to time), not because I deny that it’s happening, or that I am still coming to terms with it (even though I kind of still am, to be totally honest), but because I CHOOSE not to let it be the definition of me.  I also suffer from gluten intolerance.  SEVERE gluten intolerance, ‘nuff said.  I tried a gluten free diet before I had health insurance to be able to have celiac testing properly done and my health improved so much it seemed unnecessary to put myself through extensive glutenings just to confirm that “Yes, a gluten free diet is the answer you seek!”  I’m just grateful that Adam has been willing to go gluten free with me; I can’t imagine trying to live in a mixed gluten house!  His enthusiasm for trying my culinary experiments has been unparalleled, even in the clumsiest of beginnings.  (See? We’re right back to beginnings again!)

Lentil Soup

There are so many other things by which I would rather be defined than by what’s wrong with me, or what I can’t do or eat.  Starting with what I CAN do, and what I CAN eat!  I’ll be posting about everything from my adventures in gluten free cooking (of which there are MANY, because it gives me a sense of empowerment and confidence knowing I’m NOT missing ANYTHING—and neither will this baby!), my personal artwork, my tattooing (when I’m able to get back on the horse, as it were) and anything else I feel the need to share with you, gentle reader.  I’m a (chronic) knitter and crafter as well, so I’ll be sharing recipes and techniques of all kinds (edible, crafting or otherwise), and I’m all about information exchange; if there’s something you want to know, I’m your Gal Friday.  Chances are, I’ve been meaning to figure it out myself and just got sidetracked.  So please feel free to comment!

Hoping you’ll join me again!

Love, Erin

Leave a Reply

